Teams Chosen for Women’s Qatar Race, Feb. 4-7

(All pics, 2013 Women’s Tour of Qatar, B. Baden, Amaury Sports Organization.) 

The teams have been chosen for the women’s competition in Qatar coming next week.

Held from February 4 through 7, the Ladies Tour of Qatar 2014 will test title holder Kirsten Wild to retain her 2013 crown. Out of the fifteen teams from 10 countries, one team will represent the United States, Team Specialized-Lulu-Lemon.

The Netherlands will have the most teams at the Qatar event, with four attending, while Italy and France will have three teams each.

Four days of racing will provide an opportunity for the women’s elite teams to position themselves, size up the opposition, and try for a win in a stage race that is a decisive start of the racing season.

Strong winds dominate the almost 400 km stage race, favoring Dutch rider Kirsten Wild who has won six stages and three titles (2009, 2010, 2013).

Last year’s Australian Chloe Hosking, who held the yellow jersey on two occasions, will provide some stiff competition to Wild.

Team Orica-AIS will will also bring to the fore Wild’s main contender, World no. 1 in 2013 Emma Johansson, assisted by the recent champion of Australia Gracie Elvin.

Other top contenders include Ellen Van Dijk of Team Specialized Lulu-Lemon, the winner in 2011, and Georgia Bronzini, of the British team Wiggle Honda,, who was 2nd in both 2009 and 2010, and upset winner of the 2014 Mitchelton Bay Cycling

Winners of the 2013 Women’s Tour of Qatar


The men’s Tour of Qatar will commence on February 9 and consist of 6 stages: last year Mark Cavendish was the overall winner.

Fifteen Teams:


Team Australia: Wells (Aus)

Orica – AIS (GEW) : Johansson (Swe), Elvin (Aus)


Lotto-Belisol Ladies (LBL): D’Hoore (Bel), Rousse (Fra)

United States

Specialized-Lululemon (SLU): Worrack, Brennauer (Ger)


Equipe de France (FRA): Biannic, Jeuland (Fra)

Great Britain

Wiggle Honda (WHT): Bronzini (Ita), Becker (Ger)


China Chongming-Giant (GPC): Huang (Chn)


Bepink (BPK): Amialiusik (Blr), Valsecchi (Ita)

Team Italy (ITA): Cecchini (Ita)

Ale CipolliniGalassia (MCG): Guderzo (Ita)


Hitec Products-UCK (HPU): Hosking (Aus), Cordon (Fra)

Last year at the start of a stage.

Equipe des Pays-Bas (NED): Bras (Ned)

Boels Dolmans Cycling Team (DLT): Van Dijk (Ned), Armitstead (Gbr)

RaboLiv Women Cycling Team (RBW): Brand (Ned)

Team Argos-Shimano (SKI): Wild, Pieters (Ned)


Rusvelo (RVL): Kozonchuk (Rus)



Stage 1, Tuesday 4th February:  Museum of Islamic Art – Mesaieed (97 km)

Stage 2, Wednesday 5th February: Al Zubara Fort – Madinat Al Shamal (112.5 km)

Stage 3, Thursday 6th February: Katara Cultural Village – Al Khor Corniche (93.5 km)

Stage 4, Friday 7th February: Sealine Beach Resort – Doha Corniche (85 km)


, , , , , , , , , , ,